Storm Tharp, and worries.

by brittanychavez

I am here. Alive and doing projects and things and trying to be a better person with a happier and cleaner life. And failing, sometimes, and convincing myself that these failures aren’t failures, just little steps in the right directions. (Which they are, maybe.)

I went to an artist lecture today, Storm Tharp, and it was so good. He spoke so honestly about success not necessarily making you feel 100% good. That you are suddenly filled with doubts and worries and they don’t go away and you can never get back to an easy place. I haven’t been graced with any great success, yet. But I do notice that whenever I reach some level I’ve wanted to reach, my standards suddenly go up and I’m back thinking I’m not good enough or I’m not deep enough, I’m not talented enough.

It was nice to hear an artist talk about that for once, instead of just showing slides of work and talking about the formal elements. I really felt like I got to know a tiny bit of him by the end of that, and even if it was fleeting or manufactured, it definitely influenced me.

