Day 4, My favorite book

by brittanychavez

After Harry Potter, I’m going to say White Oleander, by Janet Fitch. Her other novel, Paint It Black, is also really good.

White Oleander is about motherhood, it’s about growing pains, identity, strength. There’s also a movie, which isn’t bad, but the book’s a million times better. (The image above is from the movie.)I couldn’t really say why I like it as much as I do. It feels like stories inside stories, almost.

I’m going to post two quotes which I love:

Dear Astrid
I know what you are learning to endure. There is nothing to be done. Just make sure nothing is wasted. Take notes. Remember it all, every insult, every tear. Tattoo it on the inside of your mind. In life, knowledge of poisons is essential. I’ve told you, nobody becomes an artist unless they have to.
Mother.

“I’d seen a couple of Claire’s movies now. She was transparent, heartbreaking. I would be afraid to be so vulnerable. I’d spend the last three years trying to build up some kind of skin, so I wouldn’t drip every time I brushed up against something. She was naked, she peeled herself daily.”

Definitley worth a read if you’ve got time to spare for 446 pages.

