The City

by brittanychavez

Today is the three year anniversary of the day Luc broke up with me. I have been thinking all day that it was only the two year anniversary, but I just counted it up and it’s three years. September 8, 2006. It’s amazing how far I have come. On that day, huddled in the corner of my room, I never would have guessed that I would be in art school in three years. No matter how petty I sound, even after three years it still matters to me. I still think about him. Luc is the basis on which I have compared all my (few) relationships. And the good thing is, Steele has proven himself so much more than anything Luc could have been. So, thinking of that is how I decided what today’s blog-post picture would be.


On a completely different note: I got my first photo assignment today. It’s really more of a project really. We have about 5 weeks to shoot at least 10 rolls of film, get 6 finished prints (+contact sheets) all based on the city. This is positively terrifying. I’ve never had the opportunity to shoot a city, in a city, or even near a city. Which is why I’ve mostly focused on portraits taken in my bedroom, on my bed, against a blank wall. But now I have that chance and it’s scary. We have a lot of choice in what exactly we do, which is good, so I’m probably going to spend the next few days brainstorming like mad.

